Use the drop-down boxes above to navigate through the Website  
Return to Reasoning List

Here is a link to this page:
http://www.jah-rastafari.com/forum/message-view.asp?message_group=794&start_row=1

A Popes Prophesy

1 - 9
Time Zone: EST (New York, Toronto)
Messenger: Dreadnut Sent: 4/26/2005 9:16:55 PM

Modern communication technology has helped make the Pope’s death an unparalleled event. The entire world has literally come together to praise this one man. I find that many sense that there will be some important and climactic consequences to follow the death of this Pope.

As I studied the many Bible prophecies of the Last Days, I found a most unusual extra-Biblical prophecy made by an Irish Catholic Bishop in the 12th Century. His name is St. Malachy. According to his biographer St. Bernard of Clairvaux, in his book Life of Saint Malachy, St. Malachy was known to have the gift of prophesy and even predicted the exact day and hour of his own death. St. Malachy was canonized in 1190 by Pope Clement III.

According to his biographer, St. Malachy was visiting Rome in 1139 when he went into a trance and received a vision. Malachy wrote down this extraordinary vision in which he claims to have foreseen all of the Popes from the death of Innocent II until the destruction of the Church and the Return of Christ. He named exactly 112 Popes from that time until the end.

St. Malachy wrote a few prophetically descriptive words in Latin about each one of the Popes. He then gave the manuscript to Pope Innocent II and it was deposited in the Vatican Archives where it was forgotten for several centuries. Then in 1590, it was rediscovered and published.

The interesting thing is that scholars have matched the brief 110 descriptive predictions with each of the 110 Popes and anti-Popes that there have been since Innocent II. Though they are a bit obscure, they have fit the general profile of each of the Popes.