Use the drop-down boxes above to navigate through the Website  
Return to Reasoning List

Here is a link to this page:
http://www.jah-rastafari.com/forum/message-view.asp?message_group=7433&start_row=31

The Real Babylon

1 - 1011 - 2021 - 3031 - 39
Time Zone: EST (New York, Toronto)
Messenger: IPXninja Sent: 11/25/2020 8:52:39 AM

BCiF,

How could I "give" your God anything? How is that possible? You say I give him a fantasy image. I disagree 100%. I simply see behind the story. As a writer I'm aware of the artform and artistry that produces such stories. And if the story is a fable or myth, you see that as denigration; as something bad or wrong.

Understand this.

I DON'T.

I love stories. If someone cannot tell that a story is fiction, then that goes to show how good the story is. The bible is a library of stores in a shared universe (like the MCU) that has done an amazing job at convincing people that every story is true and not the brain child of the writer. People even mistake the exaggeration given to kings as if that person has actually killed 10,000 people! It's amazing! The bible is amazing! You see how often I quote the bible. I might quote the bible more than you (not a dig at you). I probably quote the bible more than many if not most believers. And that's the thing. The more you study the bible... the more you stop reading it like a fairy tale and actually study it inside and out; the setting, the language, EVERYTHING... the more you do that the more you cannot help but to see behind the curtain.

The reason why some parts of the bible make no sense, in a physical sense, is because they weren't meant to be taken literally because the person who wrote it wasn't omniscient. If God is the one who told people what to write then it would stand to reason that an author wouldn't have been limited by his own personal knowledge or ideas. But this is not the case. It is always written from a human perspective. And its filled with human frailty and weakness.