Use the drop-down boxes above to navigate through the Website  
Return to Reasoning List

Here is a link to this page:
http://www.jah-rastafari.com/forum/message-view.asp?message_group=4777&start_row=1

I and I? Help?

1 - 1011 - 12
Time Zone: EST (New York, Toronto)
Messenger: Formulus Sent: 7/28/2012 6:58:00 AM

Well, hello,
I'm quite new to this, and I'm really hoping someone can explain to me some things about "I and I"
I understand the concept of it meaning us and Jah, or me and Jah, or all of us, etc.
I guess what I'm most confused about is when someone is writing something instead of ever saying me, or you, or we, or us, it is always
"I."
Especially confusing, when someone says I, but they actually mean you?
So I guess my question then is, what is the purpose behind this?

Messenger: SuperSmile Sent: 7/28/2012 7:17:10 AM

to show the unity between us all

Messenger: Formulus Sent: 7/28/2012 7:26:01 AM

I understand that much, what I'm still confused about, where I guess in English it would be grammatically to say "you were going to the park," but instead you would say "I were going to the park," even though you are not referencing to yourself, but to someone else, why do you still use the term I for someone else. If it helps, I was born and raised in Texas my whole live, so is this manner of speaking just something I will need to just get used to?

***Just thought of this, I think it's just the grammatical usage of I and I, it doesn't make sense to me.

Messenger: SuperSmile Sent: 7/28/2012 7:39:43 AM

i think someone would say The I has gone to the park, or The I is going to the park,

Messenger: Formulus Sent: 7/28/2012 7:45:13 AM

Ok, so we correct our statement to "The I would go to the park,"
and how I would say this is "You are going to the park,"
so then, from my understanding it's just the way of speaking for Rastafari?
Or is it the same when, pardon the way I say this, just now sure how else to say it,